Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Card Clarifications

Card Clarifications 7 months 3 weeks ago #548

  • IDKLOL
  • IDKLOL's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Multiverse Player: level 3
  • "Text Text"
  • Posts: 40
The card, "Warp Drive Ship" reads that it "can't move unless it has a pilot inside of it" and that it "can't battle unless it has a gunner inside of it." Now the card "Central Intelligence Computer" reads that "All blue structures you control can move and battle regardless whether there are units inside of them."

Here is my question: given that the computer says all your blue structures can move regardless whether there are units inside of them, does this mean that, with a computer, Warp Drive Ship could move and fight without a pilot/gunner? (I believe that, given the exact wording of Central Intelligence Computer, it can.)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Card Clarifications 7 months 3 weeks ago #550

In these types of situations, when two effects or abilities directly contradict each other, the one with the word "not" in the text is the one that takes precedence over the other. So, in this case, Warp-Drive Ship couldn't move or battle without any units inside it.
If that wasn't the case it would make Warp-Drive Ship an extremely overpowered card in a deck with Central Intelligence Computer.

This rule isn't written down in the rulebook, but it's a part of the design of many trading card games. It definitely needs to be mentioned there, so that these questions can be resolved simply.

On the other hand, the wording of Central Intelligence computer is a bit ambiguous and can maybe be reworded.
A few possible alternative wordings of this card could be:
"All blue structures you control can move and battle without units inside them" or
"All blue structures you control can move and battle both with and without units inside them"
"All blue structures you control can move and battle without requiring units inside them "
I'm not exactly sure which of these wordings would work best. What do you think?

Also, thanks for the insightful comment, 1 extra Player Point for you :)
Keep it up!
Last Edit: 7 months 3 weeks ago by Leandro.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Card Clarifications 7 months 3 weeks ago #551

  • IDKLOL
  • IDKLOL's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Multiverse Player: level 3
  • "Text Text"
  • Posts: 40
Hm. . .

I think #3 is the best, but maybe the relationship between Warp Drive Ship and "Computer" could be made clearer by saying "The minimum number of units a ship must contain in order to move and battle is zero." This wording would make it clear that "Computer" is not negating an additional requirement of a ship given in an ability it has, but rather is simply negating the standard rule that a ship cannot move or fight without at least one unit inside of it.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Card Clarifications 7 months 3 weeks ago #552

That's interesting! I see your point. I think your suggestion is a bit too wordy, though.
I agree with you that #3 is probably the best wording, it's more clear that it's negating a standard rule rather than overriding abilities other cards may have, but it still keeps it easier for players to understand what the effect of the Computer is.
Keep it up!
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Time to create page: 0.201 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum

Like what you see?

Close

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...